Haw River Valley

Home Page

Between Greensboro and Durham

The Haw River Valley is a 868-square-mile region located in Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Guilford, Orange and Rockingham counties in North Carolina. It is an agricultural area that has a long growing season, with 214 frost-free growing days, making it a great place for growing crops that need a long growing season like tobacco and red vinifera winegrapes. Many vineyards now border the Haw River on sloping land that contain soils that are very deep and well drained.

The area is rapidly gaining a reputation for a microclimate, long growing season and mineral-rich soils that produce superior wine grapes. Wineries in the Haw River Valley include:

Federal Designation of Haw River Valley AVA

When you think of well-known wine regions in the United States, names like Napa Valley and Sonoma Valley come to mind. Now the Piedmont of North Carolina has its own AVA, the Haw River Valley.
On March 30,, 2009 the Haw River Valley was recognized by the federal government as an official AVA which is a distinctive grape growing and wine producing area. An AVA is defined as a “delimited grape-growing region distinguishable by geographical features”. These features include climate, soil, topography, and elevation that distinguish the viticultural region from its surrounding areas.
The Haw River Valley AVA is the third AVA in the state of North Carolina. The other two are in the western part of the state in the Yadkin Valley area.  You can read the technical details of the AVA award on the government's website

Haw River Valley AVA In the News

Here are some recent mentions of the Haw River Valley in the News: